C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Freeman, Alex 

Alex Freeman



Alex Freeman (b. 28 April 1972) grew up in Raleigh, North Carolina. Around the age of 13 he became interested in composing. As his trombone teacher in those years, Bruce Reinoso, was also a composer and student of the renowned American composer Robert Ward, who was then teaching at Duke University, his trombone lessons eventually became composition lessons. He left North Carolina in 1990 to study at the Eastman School of music, where his teachers included Samuel Adler, Warren Benson, Joseph Schwantner, and David Liptak. There, in addition to his studies as a composer, he was an avid conductor of the music of his fellow composers. He then went to Boston to study with Lukas Foss and got his Master's at Boston University, spending two summers teaching young composers at the Boston University Tanglewood Institute with Charles Fussell and Richard Cornell, with whom he also studied during those years. In 1998 he moved to New York to begin his doctoral studies at the Juilliard School, studying with Christopher Rouse. The focus of his doctoral document, The First Movement of Sibelius's Fourth Symphony: Sketch Study and Style Analysis, along with a life-long fascination with the composer’s music, led him to Finland. The recipient of a Fulbright Full Fellowship, he moved to Helsinki in 2001 to research Sibelius's sketches and study composition with Eero Hämeenniemi at the Sibelius Academy. He was
also a student of Jouni Kaipainen and Magnus Lindberg.
Recent events include a performance of some of the piano works from his CD, Inner Voice, at Bargemusic, including the US premiere of Aerial Voices, and the world premiere of his first String Quartet, commissioned by the Jerome Foundation, and performed by The Amernet Quartet at Kaufmann Music Center. He also recently won first prize in Houston’s Frame Dance Company’s 2014 composition contest, which resulted in an evening-long performance built around his chamber work, Blueshift, in a 2018 spring gala. This event also featured his 2015 string quartet.
His choral work, A Wilderness of Sea, commissioned and premiered by the flagship professional choral ensemble of Finland, the Helsinki Chamber Choir, was premiered to great acclaim and broadcast internationally. The work has received numerous performances in Stockholm, Oslo, Copenhagen, Helsinki, and Finnish National public radio, as well as at the Zagreb Biennale with the Croatian Radio and TV Choir.
This past May, his expansive a cappella work, Under the Arching Heavens: A Requiem, commissioned by the Helsinki Chamber Choir, was premiered to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the end of the Finnish civil war. The live premiere recording from May 15th of this year is included with this application. The work was warmly received and was celebrated with enthusiastic reviews in national newspapers and music journals, which hailed the work’s “symphonic scope” and praised it as a “deeply moving and consoling” experience.
Dr. Freeman is currently composing full-time and lives with his wife and two sons in Finland.





Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.