C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Haddad, Saad N. 

Saad N. Haddad



Saad Nadim Haddad (b. 1992) is a composer of orchestral, chamber, vocal, and electroacoustic music who achieves a “remarkable fusion of idioms” (The New York Times), most notably in his work exploring the disparate qualities inherent in Western art music and Middle Eastern musical tradition. His music delves into that relationship by transferring the performance techniques of traditional Arab instruments to Western symphonic instruments, while extending their capabilities through the advancement of technology. The 2017–18 season features the premiere of Haddad's first major string quartet for the Lydian String Quartet, the premiere of a full orchestral work co-commissioned by the symphony orchestras of Columbus and Princeton, and a performance of Takht by the Minnesota Orchestra, among others. His chamber works, including Kaman Fantasy, Shifting Sands, Thulathi, and Guitar Etudes, will be performed in the United States, Germany, and Brazil. ​Highlights of the 2016–17 season included the premiere of Luaisyha for two processed sopranos and the Albany Symphony Orchestra, the premieres of the full orchestral version of Takht by the Sioux City and New Jersey Symphony Orchestras, the premiere of Dohree, for flute, viola and harp, by the Debussy Trio, the west coast premiere performances of Takht, for sinfonietta, by the Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra, as well as subscription performances of Manarah by the Columbus and Princeton Symphony Orchestras, among others. Throughout the season, Haddad was in residence at the Millay Colony for the Arts, the Ucross Foundation, the Bogliasco Foundation, the Studios of Key West, the Soundstreams Composer Workshop, and the Luzerne Music Center. Recent distinctions include the Charles Ives Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Barlow Endowment General Commission, the S&R Foundation Washington Award Grand Prize, the Jerome Fund for New Music grant from the American Composers Forum, the Palmer Dixon Award from the Juilliard School, the Aaron Copland Residency Award, and multiple awards from ASCAP, BMI, and the Vancouver Chamber Choir. His orchestral works have been performed by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra, American Composers Orchestra, Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra, and the symphony orchestras of Albany, Chautauqua, Columbus, Milwaukee, New Jersey, Princeton, and Sioux City. Born in Georgia and raised in California, Haddad holds degrees in composition from the Juilliard School and the University of Southern California, where his principal teachers included John Corigliano, Mari Kimura, Bruce Broughton, Frank Ticheli, Stephen Hartke, and Donald Crockett. His music is published exclusively by Dib Press. In 2016, Saad Haddad was the subject of a Spotlight interview on NewMusicBox, the web magazine from New Music USA.



  • Gender: 


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.