C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Løkkegaard, Niels Lyhne 




Composer and saxophonist, flutist and clarinettist
Master Degree from the Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen (2000-2005)
Studies in New York (2005 & 2006)
The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts (2007-2008)
Advanced Postgraduate Diploma from the Rhytmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen (2010-2012)

Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard is turning sound inside out. By multiplying instruments again and again he makes the sound transcend itself and become a pure new sound. 
His interest in multiplying sound, has lead to the SOUND X SOUND series, which is a series of works where each piece is an exploration of one single instrument that is multiplied. Read more about the SOUND X SOUND series ➞ 
Løkkegaards early work is influenced by the language of jazz and improvisation. Throughout his later production he moves towards an expression between classical music and improvised music. His latest work is transcending the borders of genre and form, and through a series of experiments and installations he explores the overlap between sounds, science and music. How sounds have the capability to affect the human body-and how the human body is to be heard in sounds are the main focus of his work.
Løkkegaards work has lead him into different collaborations a.o. with MoMA & Hello Monday as he composed the sounds for their recent René Magritte exhibition and he has received several awards for his work, among others a 1. prize from The Danish Arts Council.





Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.