C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Narbutaitė, Onutė: Was There a Butterfly? 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Was There a Butterfly?
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (venue): 
    Snellman Hall, Kokkola, Finland
  • First performance (performers): 
    Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra, conductor Juha Kangas
  • Genre: 
  • Conductor: 


  • Program notes: 

    The composition was written on the commission of the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra and dedicated to the conductor Juha Kangas and the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra. The initial musical idea and the working title of the piece was Ostinato. Ostinato, as a constant repetition of musical patterns, connotes a constant return to the same place, the same memory, the same dream – gloomy and plunging. The butterfly flew onto the title only after the completion of the work, yet not accidentally. All through the process of writing it kept fluttering in various shapes, in the corner of the mind. Like a mysterious breath, a shadow of Psyche – in Ancient Greek, psyche, soul, breath and butterfly are referred to by the same word. Or like a symbol of metamorphosis, an idea of a momentary spreading of wings.

    Author’s note





Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.