MATRIX has Assembled a Faroe Islands Music Playlist to Celebrate the Upcoming 2024 ISCM WNMD

MATRIX, the Flemish Section of ISCM, has assembled a Faroe Islands music playlist in celebration of the upcoming 2024 ISCM World New Music Days which takes place on the islands from 22 June to 1 July. Starting on 3 June, for each day leading up to the Festival, MATRIX has posted a “Faroe Islands recommended listening special” on their social media networks. They asked musician and composer Kristian Blak for his recommendations and promptly received a list of 12 compositions in our mailbox.

The first piece of music featured was ‘A drop of time, a pinch of salt’ from Anna Katrin Øssursdóttir Egilstrøð’s cycle Beinta (composed together with Allan Gravgaard Madsen). The title refers to the legendary, 18th-century Beinta. In her own time, she was known for her complex character, which was as contradictive, untamed and unpredictable as the Faroe Islands themselves. From that inspiration, the work unfolds as a vibrating landscape of 7 orchestral songs, set to texts in English and Faroese and with unrest, desire, love, and sorrow as its major themes. 

Here is the link to the complete list on Spotify:

And here are direct link for each of the tracks being featured:

Anna Katrin Øssursdóttir Egilstrøð (together Allan Gravgaard Madsen) – Beinta: A drop of time, a pinch of salt 

Sámal Jákup Jakobsen – Mjørkin

Sunleif Rasmussen – Surrounded

Teitur Lassen – Y Arpeggios

Pauli í Sandagerði – Nirusnad

Unn Paturson – Glistra

Eli Tausen á Lava – Bells

Kári Bæk – Vatnið og Ljósið

Atli Kárason Petersen – Magma 

Tróndur Bogason – Crash

Kristian Blak – String Quartet No. 2

Edvard Nyholm Debes – Variatiónir Við Tema