Tomasz Skweres: Impact

May 18, 2021 / ISCM
Photo of Tomasz Skweres © 2013 by Amir Safari


Tomasz Skweres (b. 1984) is a Polish-Austrian composer, who lives in Vienna and Regensburg in Germany. As a composer he won many prizes, competitions and received scholarships and received commissions by Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna, Konzerthaus in Vienna, Festival Wien Modern, Niederbayerische Philharmonie, Apollon Musagete Quartet and by many others. As a Cellist he is an active interpreter in the field of contemporary music and since 2012 he has been Principal Cellist in the Philharmonic Orchestra Regensburg.

Impact, composed in 2016, is an interior monologue. The inner voice that can be „heard“ in the human mind is represented by three musical motives. Their confrontation creates a field of tension, which constitutes the essential element of the whole music course of the piece. In the course of development of the music piece the three motives meet each other, build different relations, create interactions and after many attempts they become elements of one dramatic emotional construction leading to the excessively fast part – the falling – being eminently celebrated. After the last explosion all the motives are conflated into one heterogeneous descending line, which is finally brought to a total standstill.

Tomasz Skweres: Impact (2016)
Yui Iwata-Skweres, violinist
Clemens Krella, sound engineer
Neupfarrkirche Church,
Regensburg, Germany, 5.1.2018




The International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) is a premier forum for the advancement, dissemination and interchange of new music from around the world. Through ISCM, our members promote contemporary music in all its varied forms, strengthening musical life in their local contexts and making their music and its creators known to world.